track 1 | 16

massive guitar sound and ironic sense of humour

Fudge Tunnel were a band formed in Nottingham, UK, in 1988, by Alex Newport, David Ryley and Adrian Parkin. After two critically acclaimed singles on Pigboy Records (Fudge Tunnel in 1989, The Sweet Sound of Excess in 1990), they signed to Nottingham's Earache Records. Their debut album was Hate Songs in E Minor, which attracted a large amount of press interest after the original album artwork was confiscated by Nottingham Vice Squad.

The original line up consisted of by Alex Newport (guitar/vocals), Mark (bass) and Adrian Parkin (drums). Fudge Tunnel's reputation was built around their massive guitar sound and ironic sense of humour, which did not always endear them to the music press.

Two more albums were to follow in 1993 (Creep Diets) and 1994 (The Complicated Futility of Ignorance), as did a collaboration between Sepultura's Max Cavalera and Fudge Tunnel's Alex Newport, on the Nailbomb project, which saw one studio album and one live album of their Dynamo Open Air Festival performance.

After the release of their third studio album, the band split up. David Ryley ran his label BGR Records for a while, Adrian Parkin played with Tubesufer until 1996 when they too split up. Alex Newport went on to pursue a successful career as a producer/mixer and now lives and runs his own studio in New York. He has produced albums by At the Drive-In, The Mars Volta, The Icarus Line, Ikara Colt and many others. He also formed the band Theory of Ruin, who have released one album, Counter Culture Nosebleed and the Frontline Poster Child EP, both on Escape Artist Records.

website no use cookies, no spying, no tracking
to use the website, we check:
country: US · city: Dallas · ip:
device: computer · browser: CCBot 2 · platform:
counter: 1 · online:
created and powered by:
RobiYogi.com - Professional Responsive Websites
 please wait loading data...