track 1 | 6

high-energy music

Progressive rock, heavy metal, indie-rock, avant-jazz and ambient mesmerism are combined through the high-energy music of Philadelphia-based trio, DYSRHYTHMIA.

Formed in August 1998, DYSRHYTHMIA represents the vision of founding member guitarist Kevin Hufnagel and original bassist Clayton Ingerson The line-up was solidified six months later with the addition of drummer Jeff Eber. The band wasted no time writing what was to be their first self-released CD 'Contradiction' in early 2000. Like all of DYSRHYTHMIA's recordings, this album was done completely live in the studio with very few overdubs. In 2001 came the 'No Interference' record, viewed by the band and many others as a large advancement over 'Contradiction' in every aspect; from the writing, to the playing, to the production. In 2002 came two more releases in the form of a split 10" with the amazingly innovative XthoughtstreamsX and a split 7" with

Philadelphia noise-rockers Technician.

Relapse Records offered to sign the band and DYSRHYTHMIA went into Electrical Audio Studios with engineer Steve Albini to record their third release 'Pretest'. 2003 was an extremely busy and productive year for the band as they toured relentlessly with labelmates Mastodon, Cephalic Carnage, Burnt by the Sun, and many others. Press response was rather kind to the band with Metal Hammer Magazine naming 'Pretest' one of the "Top 10 Essential Mathcore Albums of All Time". Revolver Magazine named 'Pretest' one of the "Top 20 Albums of 2003" alongside albums by Radiohead, Metallica, Killing Joke, and others.

In 2004, DYSRHYTHMIA continued to tour in support of 'Pretest' doing dates with Clutch .However, by the summer the band needed to take a break. This break ended with original bassist

Clayton Ingerson leaving the band. DYSRHYTHMIA quickly rebounded with new bassist Colin Marston (also of Black Market Activties/Metal Blade Records recording artists Behold... the Arctopus). No less than a month later the band was offered a week of dates with Isis.

In May of 2006 Dysrhythmia released 'Barriers and Passages' recorded by Martin Bisi (Sonic Youth, SWANS, Helmet) and toured throughout the year with The Dillinger Escape Plan, Behold... the Arctopus, Yakuza, and Psyopus. The fall of 2007 brought a split CD with London's soundscape artisans Rothko called 'Fractures'. In 2009, the band release their fifth album 'Psychic Maps'. Touring throughout the United States and Europe followed.


Kevin Hufnagel: Guitar,

Colin Marston: Bass

Jeff Eber: Drums

website no use cookies, no spying, no tracking
to use the website, we check:
country: US · city: Ashburn · ip:
device: computer · browser: CCBot 2 · platform:
counter: 1 · online:
created and powered by:
RobiYogi.com - Professional Responsive Websites
 please wait loading data...